Day 1 & 2 of the #30DaysMagicalRoots Challenge

I’ve decided to follow along with this month long challenge by the good folk at Plentiful Earth. You can follow along on social media with the tag #30daysmagicalroots. It’s essentially daily prompting of simple things you can do to get back in tune with your magical/spiritual practice. Or, if you’re a brand new witch, a great month-long foundation of practices.

This post is a day late because I ended up celebrating Lughnasadh with the fam at their camp site, had a dinner with corn on the cob (yummmm!), then went swimming with the niece up until the sun set. So, happy belated Lughnasadh! I hope your day was as lovely as mine!

Day 1 DIVINATION
Use your favorite form of divination to ask β€œWhat should my focus be for this month?” Reflect on the themes of your divination reading. What answer speaks to you the most?

I pulled out my gorgeous Mucha Tarot deck and pulled VII The Chariot. I don’t think I’ve ever pulled The Chariot for myself in all my years of reading, so this was interesting!

This card speaks to victory, to being the conquering hero, or the hero who returns home to glory after a successful adventure. However, the keys to this victory lie in the balancing of our darker self with the light. Just as fear can either prompt us into preventative action or paralyzation, so too can joy provide us energy to continue reaching higher, or simply be complacent and lazy. The point is to continue to push forward, at a proper pace that feeds the drive for success, but also allows for proper resting time to renew that drive.

I feel this is a very appropriate card not only in terms of spirituality, but business, and well, life in general! Spiritually, I’ve been really wanting to get back into my craft, my practices. Business, I have a craft show on the 10th of August that I’m excited for, and then the building of a garden workshop so that I can have more room for the coming (crazy) gifting season. This card lets me know that success is possible so long as I keep things in check, make sure there are no overly hasty decisions, nor procrastination that turns into not doing anything at all. Β This was the perfect card!

DAY 2 GROUNDING
Practice grounding today (and every day this challenge)! What is your favorite way to do this? If you have never done this before go to YouTube and do a search for grounding techniques.

I used to ground fairly regularly, especially before sleeping. A big reason for that was because I was dealing with a lot of depression for a few years, and quite a bit of anxiety. And as you all know, anxiety loves when you’re trying to sleep to rear its ugly head and torment you!

Thankfully, anxiety the last 2-3 years has been at a minimum, as well as the depression (oh, Sun, I really missed you during the long overcast winters of Vancouver!). That means that grounding has also fallen to the wayside.

I didn’t ground yesterday, but I did this morning, and it felt good. It felt like nostalgia almost. I like to visualize roots stretching out from my feet, sinking into the earth, and wrapping around rock and soil. I breathe up the Earth’s energies, filling my energetic body from toe to head. There is also another root that used to flow from the base of my spine, but seems to want to be the top of my head now, that allows the energies being pushed out by the Earth’s energies to flow into the ground as well. I simply breathe this in until I’m completely full of Earth energy, and I have become an extension of the Earth.

Now, tomorrow’s prompt is to center yourself. I realize that my grounding technique is also a centering one, so I will simply continue with the technique, and perhaps spend a little bit longer each day breathing in Earth.

 

For the rest of the challenge, I’ll be sharing about my experiences here and on Instagram, so if you’d like to follow me there too, you can!

Leave a Reply

