Some Pop Culture Paganism

Alright guys! Despite some quiet times spiritually for me (except for Yule night proper), there has been some major feels brought to me by a couple things over the holidays.

***WARNING, SPOILERS AHEAD ***
Concerning Star Wars and Sense8

rey

First was Star Wars. Oh yes, dear gentle readers, that film really hit me in the feels, the way the Force worked, how it was once again a much more spiritual thing (I’ll just pretend the prequels never happened). The way it was almost tangible, for example: when Kylo confronts Rey in the woods the first time, and stops her in her tracks… Good Gods! I swear I could feel it, it was so powerful, so immediate.

And here’s where it gets spoilery for those who have not seen the movie yet: Rey. Fucking REY!!!! Her grasping her own power so quickly never felt out of place. She just accepted her ability, organically, without even much thought or mulling over it. Yes, there are likely heritage reasons for the Force being so strong in her, and a need for the Force to be balanced, so it would make sense why she was so powerful so quickly.

BUT… here’s where it becomes paganism, if you couldn’t already see where this was going… that complete acceptance of the power that laid within her, seemingly untouched for her whole life up to that point, was just so much yes.
You see, over the past few years, with my relationships with the Gods, and especially with my relationship with magick, or will, I’ve been contemplating and am ever aware of the thought that I just need to accept my own abilities, my own experiences, my own power in order for it to be the most effective. It has nothing to do with believing in it, nothing to do with learning about it. It is what it is.

What I say with intent, with force and will, shall come. It’s the acceptance of it that requires nothing more than myself. No outside tool, no outside revelations. This is raw, this is instinct, this is the molten core of my very being.

And Rey simply knowing, simply doing what she innately knew she already could, what she was always connected to, this is where it hit home for me that this vein running through me, this whatever you want to call it, energy, will, magick; it is most simply part of me, there is no separation between me and it, it is me. And it is bigger than me. It is connected to everything outside of what I consider me.

tumblr_static_51h1lmnzn3go0k4804gww00c8_640_v2.jpg

And secondly, there is Sense8. It’s a show about, you guessed it, eight people, around the world who are connected to one another, individual, yet intertwined and one with each other. Able to speak telepathically, even visit one another, feel each others’ emotions, touch each other (there definitely was a sex scene, wow! lol).

Just the way they were connected to each other reminded me so much of how connected we can be with our Gods as polytheists. It really brought to light that my Gods are People in the Otherworlds, and that w/We are connected, much like the characters from this show, who are again, rarely with each other physically as they all live all over the world.

Now obviously in the show, the connection is an evolutionary thing, viewed more scientifically especially because it is between humans, not human and spirit or other beings. But for myself, it was like a normalization of what I do, what I experience, that there is so much more to connection with someone/Someone than just what we can see and experience tangibly, and in our own world.

There were so many moments of emotion, unspoken, just emotion, in the show, and it reminded me so much of some of the intense experiences that have been deeply spiritual for me, that are so rich in simple emotion, in just being.

And don’t even get me started on the way the show used music to express the emotions of the interactions the characters had with each other. I’ve realized in the last few years just how much music affects me, and the way the instrumentals worked with those intense scenes was fantastic. It made me think of times I would reach out to my Gods and somehow the perfect song pops up in my earbuds.

I can’t recommend this show enough, you should definitely check it out if you can! It’s amazing how much I relate shows that have nothing to do with spirituality to my own spirituality. I think spirituality has become more of an unspoken thing in our media lately, usually involving some sort of evolution explanation. It’s not defined, but there’s something there that just speaks so much to our innate need for spirituality, for magic, for that something bigger than us.

 

4 thoughts on “Some Pop Culture Paganism

  1. I’ve been sort of ‘meh’ about the new Star Wars, and now I may actually want to see it once it comes out of the theaters, so thanks for that. 🙂 Sense8 sounds extremely interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww, no problem! I thought it was fantastic, but you know, having a powerful female lead does it for me, hehe!

      I can’t emphasise how much I adored Sense8! I was having all the feels watching it. It was like a big light bulb went off for me!

      Like

  2. I have Kylo Ren problems, but I am also villainbait, in addition to being TricksterBait. note: i am not complaining. Um. Anyway. People fap so hard over PCP that I haven’t written about any of those shenanigans publicly in any kind of detail, but I feel you in regards to the Force.

    The Force is a fucking troll, btw. Nngng. Maybe I’ll email you and we can compare notes. LOL.

    I’ve been wanting to watch Sense8 and haven’t yet; I will have to give it a looksee soon, cause you’re not the first witchy Pagan person to recommend it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know I didn’t mention him in the post because I was so enamoured with Rey, but Kylo!! Yes!! I don’t have Kylo problems as you say 🙂 however, good Gods his scenes were fucking intense and powerful. Gah!!
      Also, I read that post or two you made about him…. Nope, do not sense complaining 😀 in not sure I could handle that intensity, but perhaps you’re bait for it because you can 🙂

      Oh, I hear you about the PCP!! I think it’s still difficult for us polytheists to talk about our relationships with the Gods our Ancestors worked with and worshipped. Still very easy for people to wig out and think you’re crazy. But pop culture stuff!? Immediately bananas. Especially since there was such a boom when Marvel Loki happened!! Yes, there’s fluff when things are shiny and new, but it doesn’t mean it’s insincere. Bah!

      Hehe, I am still poking around the Force, still thinking about it more seriously, but I feel like you totally have to be a zen master to get it, lol.

      Yes!! Watch Sense8, do it! It’s so good!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

