Happy Birthday to Me!

Well, ok, I’m a little early with that (my birthday is on the 7th). However, I’ve given myself an early birthday present….

MAKING MEAD!!!

Oh, how I have missed it so much! Making mead and beer is one my most favouritest things ever, and it has been much too long since I’ve watched yeast babies consume all the sugar they can. Well, here is a post all about my lovely mead making evening last night!

All the ingredients lain out on the counter

All the ingredients lain out on the counter

Mmm, delicious honey.

Mmm, delicious honey.

A cup of strong, black tea for tannin.

A cup of strong, black tea for tannin.

2015-05-05 21.09.52

The smell of honey and blueberries is divine.

The smell of honey and blueberries is divine.

Look at that beautiful, yeasty foam! In you go, yeast babies!

Look at that beautiful, yeasty foam! In you go, yeast babies!

Now eat till your heart's content, yeast. Or... perhaps until your death. :P

Now eat till your heart’s content, yeast. Or… perhaps until your death. 😛

So that was my wonderful evening! A blueberry mead in the works, and plans to get Grolsch bottles for beer making as I received a beer kit that must be made! It’s patio season, after all! And I’d much rather drink something that isn’t water, thank you very much! We’ll be bottling the mead in Grolsch bottles as well, but no need to get them now as I figure the mead may not be drinkable for perhaps around six months, perhaps a little less.

The last batches I made used a lot more honey so they were pretty drinkable at around 3 months, this one has a bit less honey so I’m expecting a longer wait. Which I have absolutely no problem with because I can already imagine the deliciousness! I realize too that those first meads could have aged a little longer and would have likely been even better, but when it’s the first batch…. you just have no patience at all!

This was definitely a very happy birthday present to myself, and what’s even better is there is a small wine/beer making place about a 10-15 minute walk away from me (5 if I’m riding my bike). It’s a very small store, and mostly for those who would like to have wine brewed there, but there were enough supplies that it’s all good. I’m sure they wouldn’t mind ordering things for me either. Very exciting!

 

In other news, the garden is coming along, although now I can only do things in the evening since apparently I am newly allergic to a few chemicals in sunscreen. I have some natural stuff with much fewer ingredients, and without the skin-irritating chems, on the way, so I’m hoping it will arrive if not by this Friday, then next Monday. Fingers are crossed! I can’t stand being inside and unable to be out in the garden when there is work to be done!

Despite this, I’ve been getting my potatoes in ground, and I found a Lemon Balm (Melissa officinalis) hanging out in the garden from last year, along with parsley, the rhubarb, and my chives. The raspberries are doing very well along the side of the garage as well, lots of baby canes coming up. Yes, there will be a raspberry mead! Wee!! So many exciting things. Now, just to keep myself motivated, although the first year of a new garden is always a year of seeing what works and what doesnt, and boy, did I find that out last year!

 

Alright, lovelies! Enjoy this beautiful day, sun or rain, or even snow if it should come to pass.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Many blessings to you on your birthday. I’ve never made mead but I’ve seen folks make it (via pictures) and it seems pretty awesome. I really need to push myself to make some! (I’ve been saying this for, at least, the last five to six years. I am a pro-procrastinator.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you kindly!
      Yes, I had plans to make Mead and beer last year, and it just didn’t happen. I understand the procrastination, though 5-6 years is much too long! Lol.
      If you do make some, it’s a wonderful chance to experiment with all the flavours you love 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

