Owie – A Sacrifice To My Garden?

So I was weeding around my raspberries and blueberries today (I’m so excited because I have a ton of baby raspberry canes coming up!), and for some reason, as I was using my hand rake, my eyes decided not to see this big white rock (probably slightly smaller than the size of my head, though oblong), and as I went in at some weeds, I hit my middle finger… twice!

image

If you look at my middle finger (I know, the picture doesn’t really tell much of what it really looks like in real life), you’ll notice my middle joint and just above it is blueish (much more so in real life). Also, it’s quite puffy compared to my other joints. Funny thing, that finger has been hurting for no reason the past few days… ??

Also, I like the picture I took of my poor finger, looks like I’m trying to reach through the glass to the squishy green below 🙂

So perhaps now you’d like to know about how things are going in the garden?
Quite swell! I had dug up and turned over the soil of one of the ginormous beds (you know, I think I may take a screen cap of my garden plan so you can get what’s going on…

image

Oh look, there it is 🙂 I know, I know, I took a photo with my phone of the tablet screen, my tablet’s keyboard doesn’t have a print screen key. And I’m lazy.

It’s pretty big! You’ll notice down in the left hand corner of the left bed is empty space, that’s where my other herbs are going since the program (smartgarden) didn’t have some of my herbs. I wanted to dig out the whole thing by hand so I could take out all the weeds. Well, I got to the end of one of the two plots, and the dense grass was too much. I don’t seem to have as much digging energy as I did last year. So what we’re doing is having someone come in with their gas tiller to do the rest of the first plot, and all of the second plot.

I figure since I know better this year how things are going to grow in the garden (I’ve set up the plan by hand so that bigger plants can shade small plants that need less sunlight, and companion planting as well), along with more precautionary measures and different ways of growing some plants (vertical gourds). I will be protecting my brassicas this year, which sadly got eaten by the dreaded cabbage whitefly, and I’m not 100% sure yet how I’m going to do my potatoes, other than they’re not going to be directly in ground. I’m thinking of making makeshift raised beds with chicken wire and hay around the edges to keep the soil in. Potato towers seem not to be as magically wonderful as they appear on Pinterest. So raised potato beds will help with rotting and hopefully with yields.

I feel good about this year’s gardening adventures, after having a season of learning how the vegs work on this piece of land. I am likely getting a dehydrator next month for my birthday, so that will come in handy for drying herbs as well as vegetables and berries (I want veggie chips, and get a bushel of apples for apple chips in the fall, as well as all the kinds of fruits and veggie chips you can think of!). That way we’ll have less to keep in the deep freezer (we’re getting a second one, as we’ll be buying half a cow and a whole pig come autumn).

I’m hoping for good berry crops for some homegrown, homemade jam, so I’ll be building a cage around the berries so the birds can’t get at them. Lots to do this year! Lots indeed!

Along with all the gardening, I’ll be starting my Yule gifts soon as I will be doing cross-stitch things, which, takes like forever.
On top of that, planning for something special next summer (details likely to come in the future, though likely way closer to the date).

And, trying to put my tarot reading shop out there more, I believe there may be some tangible items likely to be put in at some point. Not exactly sure when, though I’ll keep you updated.

So how is your spring going? Making lots of plans and beginning to implement them for the coming harvest? Or gearing up for winter rest if you’re in the Southern hemisphere?

2 thoughts on “Owie – A Sacrifice To My Garden?

  1. Ooooo I wanted a dehydrator for my birthday last year but hubby said it would be a crappy present 😦 I’ll see if I can talk him around this year 😉 I tried my hand at veggie gardening last year but with little success, we’ve had some funny weather here in Australia, the seasons are all out of whack, and in talking to other gardeners, not many had great success this past year.

    Like

    • Oh no! I hope he’s convinced a dehydrator is a good idea… You can even make jerky! Lol.
      Yeah, last year’s summer was a bit weird, we didn’t really get hot and humid like it normally does here for a few weeks… I know my last year’s crappy yield was more of figuring out what to do and what not to do on this particular piece of land.
      I hope whatever you grow soon (Eben if only flowers) works out better if you decide to give another go 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

