The Pagan Experience: Personal Practice

I realize I’m posting the first two prompts of The Pagan Experience very close together, but who cares? I certainly don’t. I will write when I feel called to it for the blog. So that means I may not write for every prompt, in fact, for PBP, I have never written for the last month or two at the end of the years I did it because having to do ALL THE THINGS, as well as having SAD, which makes me want to do absolutely nothing.

Ok, so enough moseying around the subject for today! Also, why do I feel the need to explain myself? Note to self: just do stuff, you’re not a child, you don’t have to explain every detail of why you do the things you do in the way that you do it to anyone but yourself, if you’re so inclined. Love you.

Right. We’re truly on track for the blog now! This week is about favourite practices, could be spiritual, could be magickal. I’m gonna pick both.

For the magickal side, I don’t do a lot of spells, but I do move energy about when I need to. At bedtime, especially on nights when my mind won’t shut up, I clear out my body and brain of all the things I’m holding on to that don’t serve my purpose of sleep and rest. I do a cleansing breath thing, nothing I found in a book or online, just something that came to me organically. That’s probably one of my favourite magickal practices because it takes a few minutes, and then I can more easily fall asleep (which I sometimes have problems with).

For the spiritual side, one of my favourite things to do is offer songs to the spirits I work with. There was a lot of that in the summer with being outside lots. Apparently that’s where I feel most inspired to sing, and I can’t be upset with that inclination. At home there’s always people about, the house is rarely without at least two people in it (including me), and it’s not that I’m shy about singing, it’s that when you sing from the heart, it’s super personal, and these songs are not for human ears, unless I’ve worked on the songs, and am inspired to share. Also, the Man works nights, so the conduciveness of my singing at home just isn’t right at the moment. Most of the song offerings have been on the spot things that just come to me. Sometimes, it’s whatever song happens to be in my head at the time (moreso if I’m out in the woods and singing to the winds and the trees, and the land spirits).

So there it is, some favourite practices of mine. Nothing complicated, just simple things that resonate with me.

Leave a Reply

