Story Weaving Once More

So, the darkness has lifted quite a bit and I’m excited and engaged in things again. If you’ve seen anything from me on Twitter in the last week, you’ll know I’m preparing to give NaNoWriMo another whirl this year (that’s National Novel Writing Month, for those of you who don’t know about it yet).

I’ve spent the last week employing the Snowflake method, albeit a slightly abbreviated version of it, to pre-plan my novel this year. Last year’s was a write by the seat of my pants go, and while I really enjoyed doing it that way, just allowing things to unfold from the pits of my mind, I did end up planning things out as I went along anyway. So I figured I’d try it with a plan in place this time, although it’s not going to be super rigid and allows me some flexibility to play around with some things.

So today, I’ve been making a list of the scenes I’d like to write, and by doing that, I’ve discovered something else that will be unfolding within the story, which I am very happy about. I have to say, how this one is developing, I’m really quite excited to just read the story as I write it. I want to know what is going to happen, I want to see the relationships develop, I want to see how these characters are going to struggle and learn. I just want to know the story already!

I’ll divulge a little and tell you that it’s kind of a blend of fantasy, alternate history, and romance. Gods are involved, and I’ve already got some expansion into more than one pantheon in mind for a subsequent novel. I’m even thinking it may turn into a trilogy, you know, because that’s just what you do, and I can already see where I can take the essential story and expand into a greater and greater view of the world.

Needless to say, I’m anxiously awaiting November to begin so I can dive right into the deep end. I’m also upping the word count I’d like to achieve this year. Last year I did the standard 50,000, and this year, I’d like to up it to 60,000. We shall see what becomes of it!

2 thoughts on “Story Weaving Once More

  1. YAY Nano!! I am irrationally excited about participating again. My brain wants to insist that since I “only” reached 45k last year I have no business being excited. Which is bullshit. (I counter that with, “but I wrote over 100k in fiction during the whole year!” and thus, I win) I need to get some planning done (maybe? Maybe? I know where the story is going to go, and really the research I need is mostly setting. But also, my main human character is not of my ethnic background and that’s making me nervous. She’s insisting, and it’s needful for the story, but at the same time . . . gack.

    Anyway. YAY Nano!

    Like

    • 45k in 30 days is pretty damned awesome, if you ask me! And 100k in a year is totally a fantastic win 😀 I’m glad you are doing it again this year!! There’s just something about NaNo that has made me very excited, this year and last!
      That would make me a little scared, writing a mc who isn’t my ethnicity, but it makes for a fantastic challenge, and a chance to walk in another’s shoes (which is a pretty big lure of writing and telling stories anyway).

      Like

Leave a Reply

