A Prayer In Thanks to the Spirits of the Land

Spirit of the Forest - Herman Smorenburg

Spirit of the Forest – Herman Smorenburg

Hail to you, Spirits of the Land

I thank you for the nurturing of life and processing of death

That you have ceaselessly provided since this earth became alive.

For the birds you house who bring sweet songs to my ears,

The tiny insects that process all living things’ waste,

The predators who hunt overpopulated prey,

I thank you.

 

For the impossible balance you keep with the innumerable  creatures you nourish or claim,

And the wonderous affectation you cause when my senses are

Overwhelmed and inflitrated by your magnificence.

I thank you for feeding me, for feeding my ancestors, if not in this place,

Then in many others.

Hail to You, in your beauty.

 

Written by Miaerowyn

6 thoughts on “A Prayer In Thanks to the Spirits of the Land

  1. This line concerns me.

    “The predators who hunt overpopulated prey,”

    There are those who think that they have the say over who and what is overpopulated on our beautiful planet, and they have no respect for Mother Earth, or us

    Like

    • What I meant by this line was in no means humans. It is the actual hunters, wolves, felines, raptors, things of claw and tooth. As much as we are animals, I don’t believe we are part of the natural world anymore considering how much we believe (falsely) we can control it. I hope that clears up your concern. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

