Waiting

20140523_164354

 

I’m anxiously awaiting my new tarot deck that should hopefully (fingers crossed) arrive tomorrow! It’s a birthday gift along with a handful of books to read, all witchy, of course! I’m getting the Wildwood deck, which I am pretty excited about as the images are beautiful and really click with me (so far as I’ve seen online). Not to knock the Rider-Waite, it’s a fantastic deck to start out with as it is the go-to, but I need something that works more for my own sensibilities. What’s also great is there is a huge book which discusses each card, which means (and I’ll find out for sure when I receive it), that it can also probably work well as a beginner’s deck. I’ll probably discuss how I like the deck once I’ve had some time to work with it in the future.

As for the books, I got the following:
Balkan Traditional Witchcraft by Radomir Ristic, Michael Carter
Sacred and Herbal Healing Beers: The Secrets of Ancient Fermentation by Stephen Harrod Buhner
The Faery Queen of Spencer’s Butte and Other Tales by Jolene Dawe (read her fantastic blog here)
Journey to the Dark Goddess: How to Return to Your Soul by Jane Meredith
Hearth and Field: A Heathen Prayer Book by Hester Butler-Ehle
Neolithic Shamanism: Spirit Work in the Norse Tradition by Raven Kaldera, Galina Krasskova

Funny thing, you buy a bunch of books, and then you have no focus to read them. Since I didn’t have to wake up this morning for garden work, apparently that meant my body wanted to sleep 10 1/2 hrs, so I woke up at 11 am. Then I end up being tired all day. Fantastic. Oh well, I let myself rest, and baked some squares for a friend’s birthday on Saturday.

What I’m also waiting on now is for a friend of the family to come and till my garden beds so I can get to planting, finally! I finished digging up the last bed yesterday (Wednesday May 21), was hoping he’d come today, but it did rain overnight. Hopefully he’ll be here tomorrow to get it all done, because my seedlings need in the earth! They need to grow! And I need to tend to them! Heh, you can tell I hate being on the verge of things…

I realize this post is waffley, so I’ll let you get on with your day/night until I have something substantial to say. I’m off to dreamland.

 

Edited: added in my own photo of the deck.

Leave a Reply

