Pagan Blog Post – K is for Knitting

image

As with most things, knitting can be a magical pastime. As you knit, you weave in the energies you wish whoever will use the item will be surrounded by, especially if it’s a blanket or sweater that can enfold someone inside it.

Right now I am knitting a blanket for our bed, putting in my magic of love, comfort, rest, protection, and a link to the world tree, Yggdrasil, while dreaming. I will post pictures later when it is finished.

Weaving and fiber manipulation of all sorts has long been a traditional woman’s craft and magical craft, as again, much love and energies are generally poured into said craft as most things take at least a few hours to create. This leaves time for quiet meditation, contemplation, and focus on the magic you wish to put in.

Think of the usual handmade sweaters, booties, and caps that are gifted when someone has a baby. How about those new mittens mom or Gramma would knit you each year as the weather turns cold. It is the warmth of love and the wishing for us to remain safe and healthy that we feel when we put on those mittens, or think about our favorite scarf when we were kids.

4 thoughts on “Pagan Blog Post – K is for Knitting

  1. I keep wanting to get into sock knitting. I’ve started my first pair five times. I’ve made it to the gussets, top down, and stop and lose track of where I am. I’ve a dear friend who does the Blue Moon sock club, and I toy with the idea of doing that, but at the end of the day? Wash cloths are for me what socks are for others. Rectangles are soothing and comforting and just . . . yeah. I keep meaning to start sample squares to later sew into a blanket proper.

    Knitting has become my yoga, in the last year or so. Which, on the one hand, isn’t great, because it doesn’t have the physical aspect that yoga has. But between walking for exercise, stretching as I feel driven to, and knitting, the meditative aspects are taken care of, and it alas keeps me off the mat.

    On top of that, I use knitting as a connection to my ancestors, by way of fiber crafting.

    Most importantly: I love the colors in those skeins! Will you post a picture of the blanket when it’s finished?

    Like

    • He-he, sock knitting can be difficult. I restarted mine quite a few times too! The only problem I had is that the ball of the foot bit died quite quickly. It was a cotton yarn, so maybe I need something stronger?

      Blue Moon sock club? That sounds awesome! However, I get you for the squares and rectangles, you don’t want to have to think too much while knitting, especially since it’s become your yoga; it’s pretty much the same for me actually. I like to learn a few new designs that I can easily incorporate into knitting, that doesn’t take a lot of thinking once I’ve got the hang of it. Yep, knitting and walking seem to be my meditation as well. As much as I love yoga, it doesn’t seem to fit right now, and that’s alright.

      I have the knitting/ancestor connection as well, I was actually talking to my boyfriend the other night about knitting, he said that it’s not important now as we have machines and such to make it for us. I said to him, up until very recently, in human history, women have been doing fiber craft to clothe everyone, it was an incredibly important role, and not something that should even today be looked as pointless, and useless! That and the fact that when we knit something ourselves, it’s completely unique from what you will find mass produced in the department stores! Not even mentioning the love and magic that goes into it!

      He-he, yes, I saw the yarn in the store (Wal-Mart, unfortunately, lol), and I had to have them! They’re cotton too, so they have some redeeming qualities 😉 I will absolutely post a picture when I’m done! I’m working furiously for hours on it, so hopefully it will be finished soon!

      Like

      • My attempts with socks have been with cotton, with a wool blend, and with a wool and bamboo blend. I prefer cotton socks, so I’ll likely go back to trying that, and the bamboo blend was terribly slippery, so I recommend steering clear. My last attempt got me as far as picking up stitches after turning the heel, but Beth says I try to understand the whys of the patterns before I actually complete the pattern — half of my knitting mind seems to always be turned toward dissecting the pattern so I can then make my own. Which works . . . once you actually complete patterns. THEN you can decide to change your approach midway through, but not without the practical knowledge of what all does what and why and how. After. Not before.

        https://sockclub.bluemoonfiberarts.com/

        My partner and I both strive a bit toward the slower lifestyles, especially in regards to the fiber arts. It’s why a loom is higher up on the to-buy list than seating for our living room is. (We have our desk chair, and the kitchen chairs. Arm chairs or a futon will take up more room that could better be given to tools!) Yes, we don’t *need* to produce cloth like it had to happen previously, but I’d argue that this is a bit why we need, on a spiritual lever, to do more with our hands. How much of what we do on a daily basis immediately produces for us what we need? (In this case, textiles to wear, i.e: portable shelter) I don’t need to garden either, but I get satisfaction out of providing for some of my own basic needs, and yeah, it ties us to our ancestors a bit more.

        Nothing wrong with getting yarn where you can get it. Must support the addictio– -er, craft. 😉

        Like

        • Aha! Well, thank you, now I will not be getting bamboo yarn for socks, seeing as my cotton socks were pretty slippery on these tiles to begin with! I don’t wish to slip and get concussed, not good times! 😛

          I totally hear where you’re coming from on the dissecting of a pattern, or things in general for me at least. I can restart a pattern up to ten times, it’s ridiculous. But I want to figure out why the pattern maker decided to use these stitches instead of something simpler to get the same basic results. Sometimes that means I change the pattern into something more simpler as I see fit. It’s probably easier doing that with squares and rectangles than it is with socks though, lol. I can’t even tell you how many times I had to restart my socks!!
          Thanks for the link by the way, will be checking it out!

          I agree, if you have your comfy chairs you both can use for all your crafting activities, then why not fill up the rest of the house space with tools that you will use more than you would extra seating. I think it’s good to appreciate that not that long ago, all our clothing, or things of the like, had to be made by us; it’s good to see that process, to also appreciate how easy we humans have it nowadays. I completely agree that on the spiritual level we should be doing more with our hands. Devotion work is important, as is ritual, but I feel like actually producing physical, tangible things with our hands that will be used for a plethora of things, mundane (if anything to a spiritual person really is mundane or not), to creating the things we use in ritual, or as gifts for Them.
          He-he, with the gardening, the biggest two things for me is understanding the ebb and flow of the land, and of course, garden food just tends to taste better, whether that’s the satisfaction that I’ve grown it myself, putting my energy into it, or it’s just actually nicer than the mass grown stuff!

          He-he, nah, there isn’t. You get what you have the means to get, silly purist/righteous snobbery. Not everyone can afford organic, fair trade, vegan, etc, etc, etc, things 😛

          Like

Leave a Reply

