Yay! Haus Of Gloi Emulsions!

So I received my new emulsions in the mail about a week ago now. I wanted to give them both some time to make their impressions on me! And, boy have they!

Let’s talk about Moon Dog first!

This scent is very sweet, but with depth. I loooove it! You can definitely smell that sandalwood on the top with the coconut. Now, the coconut isn’t terribly strong, but it’s what makes the blend so sweet. And for some reason, everytime I put it on, I feel like I’m smelling cedar as well, which is interesting as there’s no cedar in it, and I know I’m not actually smelling cedar. The nutmeg and clove are subtle, but they create the rich depth to the scent. It’s simply delicious!

The other one I got was Depravity!

I think this may just be my favourite so far. It smells like incense and sweetness. Again, the coconut isn’t really saying too much, but oh, it blends so well with the amber!!! The nutmeg and clove again create a deep, rich base. The “spilled wine” is absolutely amazing, gives it a big of a point, and I actually had some red wine the one night while wearing this on my hands, and I swear, the wine tasted better (it was a pretty good wine too, lol). This one is definitely worth checking out if you enjoy decadence!

So, I am going crazy over their stuff! I’ve ordered two bar soaps last weekend as well! The one is “Honey Tree”, and the other “The Brier Path”. I haven’t used bar in a long time, but I’ll see if I can get enough lather on my loofah. I’m quite excited! I will let you know about those as well when I’ve used them! πŸ˜€

And this weekend saw me with my own body care work! I made my first batch ever of deodorant! I’ve been scouring the internet for the past two months on more natural ways of keeping fresh, and fell upon this recipe which a lot of bloggers seem to love. It’s also incredibly easy to make, and fun if you own a few essential oils of your own to make a scent for it! I chose lavender (cuz it’s anti-bacterial), sweet orange, coconut and clove. Can you tell I love coconut?? I sure couldn’t! Lol. Just tried it out yesterday, and seemed to work pretty well, but we’ll see how it stands up to a whole day of moving around and such and walking to and from school! Will also keep you updated on this πŸ˜€

Homemade Deodorant
1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup corn starch
5-6 tbsp coconut oil

In a small bowl, sift the baking powder and corn starch until it is completely blended.
In a separate bowl, scoop out the coconut oil. I had to mash mine a bit with a fork. Then I added a few drops of my essential oils (I’m sure fragrant oils would work just as well!). I continued to mash the coconut oil around until the eo’s were blended in. Then add it to the powder, mix well, and place in a container! πŸ™‚

If you’re going to try this out, let me know how it works for you! I’ve read in a few blogs, that there may be a bit of a rash around week two, but after, it’s smooth sailing!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Yay! Haus Of Gloi Emulsions!

  1. Thank you for posting! I’m excited to try something like your homemade deodorant recipe. I would say if you find your skin reacting, try removing or reducing the clove oil, since that is known to sometimes be a skin irritant and sensitizing agent.

    Like

    • He-he, unfortunately, the clove oil is already in, so I will suffer for a while, I guess! I’m not going to trash the batch, cuz, well, coconut oil is expensive for a student πŸ˜› Thank you though, I will keep it in mind for next time. Seems like it’s mostly the lavender that is being smelly too, so next time, it may just be lavender!
      And hey, I thought it was an easy and awesome recipe, and I read so much of it being great, so I thought it would be a good idea to share πŸ™‚ Let me know how it works for you if you try it!

      Like

  2. Any chance you know if there’s a different kind of oil I could use in place of coconut? I’m allergic to coconut and in small amounts it’s not bad, but a hideous rash in my armpit would be pretty crummy haha

    Like

    • Hmm, I don’t know! I know the reason why you use coconut is because it’s solid at room temperature (and it is pretty darn solid!). I’m assuming you could use other oils that are solid at room temp as well… maybe look into the melting point of coconut and try to find one that has a melting point around the same numbers?

      Like

Leave a Reply

